Ben is 2 months old!

Our baby boy is 2 months old!

Stats:

Weight: 14 lbs 11.5 oz., Length: 24 1/4 inches. He is in the 97% percentile for height and weight, what a big boy!

The past month has been one of transitions. I started back to work and that has been quite an adjustment. Ben comes to work with me most days; I’m super lucky that both Lois and Todd are cool with Ben coming with me, I would miss him so much! Here we are in the Moby–we finally figured it out!We’ve had a lot of fun this month, but we did have one scary thing happen. On a Friday night shortly after I put Ben to bed, I went to close the door and I heard him choking. He was puking and had projectile vomited all over his crib. He threw up a few more times that weekend and after talking with one of my friends who is a pediatrician, she recommended we have him checked out to make sure he didn’t have something called pyloric stenosis. Pyloric stenosis is when the pylorus muscle grows too thick not allowing anything into the stomach. Some of the symptoms are projectile vomiting and vomit that looks like curdled milk. Dehydration is the big one to worry about, but luckily Ben wasn’t dehydrated. So in any case, we took him to the doctor and she ordered an ultrasound. Scary stuff to see our little tiny guy getting all checked out! Luckily, he doesn’t have PS, which requires surgery to fix. She thought it could be reflux or a bug, we’re keeping our eye on him!

Likes:

Ben loves nursing, I think it’s his favorite thing to do. Now that he’s getting a little older, he’s started to really look at us. Now when he nurses, he will lock eyes with me. I love it! Now that we’ve gotten the hang of it, we don’t need to use the nursing pillow so much anymore, though it’s still nice sometimes to have the extra support. I’m also getting more comfortable with nursing and I’ll bust out the boob at work. (They want to make a sign for the Corkscrew that says “Achtung boobies!” so people won’t come into the office, more for them than me), I’ve nursed at friend’s houses, the doctor’s office, the backyard, a park. When little man is hungry, he wants it now!

Ben continues to really enjoy both the bouncy seat and the swing. I’ll drag the swing into the bathroom with me when I’m getting ready for work and he’ll just stare at me while I sing to him. He likes the mobiles too, now that he can see them! Here he is in the bathroom with me, I like this one because it looks like he’s waving.Tummy time is a new fav for Ben. I sometimes forget to put him on his tummy every day, but it’s supposed to help with his head control and a bunch of other stuff too. It’s fun to watch him on his tummy. He’s even started to roll over from his tummy to his back! The first time he did it, it scared him and he started crying, but now he’ll do it with ease.He’s also become quite the fan of both his paci and his lovey, if he’s fussy, I’ll give him both and he calms down. I think he likes how soft the little giraffe blanket is.

What’s New: The biggest new thing is that Ben started smiling! I love it, he’s got what has to be the world’s best smile! He’ll smile when I come get him when he wakes up, especially when he’s getting his diaper changed. He smile when we talk to him, he also sort of giggles too. It’s so much fun watching him grow! This is probably my favorite photo of the month. He’s hanging out on the beautiful blanket my Aunt Nancy made for him: thanks Aunt Nancy, we love it!

In addition to the smiling, he really loves to talk. He will coo at us and mimic our noises and facial expressions too. It’s a lot of fun to see him interact with us. I’ve also learned that he responds really well to singing. I haven’t got the best voice in the world, but he seems to think it’s just fine. Every night before he goes to bed, I sing a few songs to him, always ending with “You are my sunshine”. Combined with rocking, jiggling, and singing, he will usually almost fall asleep and then I can put him down. And, the great news is, because he’s such a big baby, he usually sleeps until about 4-4:30 without waking up! It feels like we get a real night’s sleep! Ben is such a joy and we just love him to pieces. I can’t wait to see him continue to grow and develop!

Gratuitous cuteness:

