Indianapolis

On Sunday, we took our big spring break trip to Indianapolis! As I am now 37 weeks (and 2 days as of this writing!), we didn’t want to stray too far from home, but we still needed to get out of town for a little minute. Whether we would go was up in the air, though, as Saturday I had contractions all day long and even considered going to labor & delivery. After talking with Jill and the on-call doctor, we determined they were just Braxton Hicks, so we went about our day and went downtown with Robert & Debbie for a drink (water for me). Though I did order a whiskey just to see what would happen. The bartender looked concerned…

So, in any case, Sunday we drove to Indy to meet Devan and Ryan and spend some time in the sun. We went to a fun restaurant in Broad Ripple (a very cute neighborhood in Indy with lots of cute shops and restaurants on a canal). We ate at Brugge Brasserie, which I highly recommend. The fries were so tasty, with like 30 different sauces to dip in. Surprisingly, my favorite was sauce andalouse, which is a mayonnaise based sauce with peppers, tomatoes and onions. Given my lifelong hatred of mayo, this was a shock.

After lunch, we drove down Meridian Drive, a beautiful street with amazing houses, any of which Isaac and I would happily take up residence in, to get to the Indianapolis Museum of Art. This free (!) museum has lots of different exhibits, including European and American art, which is where Isaac and I spent our time, Dev and Ryan checked out this and the contemporary art as well. We didn’t spend a ton of time there as we both needed to head back, but I would love to go back again and check out their grounds. They have over 100 acres of gardens and whatnot that I would love to explore. Though the museum looks brand new, it’s actually been around for 125 years. All in all, we had a nice day and it was a lot of fun to visit with Devan and Ryan before the baby comes (plus we returned their BBQ stuff they left here in October!)

Me & Isaac

Devan and Ryan, so photogenic!

Me and Dev

In other 37 weeks news: I am getting so tired! Today, after my doctor’s appointment, I had to take a nap just to recover. It could also be the heat we’ve been having. This is our third March here, and it is by far the warmest we’ve had. Last year at this time I think things were just starting to warm up, but this is crazy! It was 85 today! I thought I was all set on maternity apparel to get me through, since I thought it would stay cool enough for what I currently have. Thank goodness for Frogs & Fairies (a resale shop that has really cute maternity and baby stuff), I just had to get some capris and t-shirts today to get me through!

We’ve been keeping up with the walking, this morning (and most mornings), Magnum and I walked to Crystal Lake Park. Isaac and I think this is Mags’ favorite walk because he gets to be off leash for a good part of it. I don’t know if it’s all the walking or what, but the baby has started to drop, meaning I have to pee every 5 seconds. Despite this, I am not dilated or anything according to the nurse we saw today. I am so ready for this baby to come, but he is taking his sweet time. This is probably a good thing, as Jill is sick (meaning no doula right now) and Dr. Nelson is out of town until next week. I’m just going to have to practice patience and good sense. Maybe he’ll decide to make an appearance next week when everybody’s well and in town!

Until next week!

