Yoga Practice

I thought I’d write a little about my yoga practice today. Since I found out I was pregnant, I’ve been doing certain poses. At first, Lois, my teacher, had me doing all sorts of poses to “keep the baby in”. She had me do almost everything with my legs belted. I had to practice like this until 14 weeks. It was a lot of work and there was a lot of really hilarious hopping around with six belts around my legs (from upper thigh to ankle). I had some photos on my cell I was going to post, but alas I dropped the phone in the tub last night and killed it. Womp womp.

Since week 15, I’ve been doing pregnancy poses. Iyengar yoga is really cool because it focuses more on correct alignment, posture, and actually helping with things. Don’t get me wrong, I appreciated touchy feel yoga when I first started out, but now I am a firm believer in “real” yoga as my friend Ben says. I’ve done poses that help alleviate nausea and heartburn, there are poses that make your headache go away, there are poses for cancer patients, to help with low back, knees, neck and shoulders, the list goes on and on and it’s pretty cool.

So in any case, I don’t do “prenatal” yoga, I do yoga with modifications for pregnancy. Right now Lois is trying to get the baby to drop and some of the poses also help with the contractions caused by the irritable uterus. This is me in a backbend at 33 weeks.

Image

Another pose I do a lot of is half moon pose. Here at 34 weeks:

Image

And finally, in head balance:

Image

I’m hoping to keep practicing until I go into labor and I actually plan to use some poses to help with contractions while I’m laboring.

Gratuitous picture of Magnum and Isaac looking adorable, just think in a few weeks there’ll be another boy joining them in their rest!Image

