Summer Update

It’s been a while since I’ve had any time to be on here. I’m so glad I was able to document Ben’s first 12 months in this space. It has been fun to read through the archives and watch him grow. I wonder what he will think of this when he is old enough to read it. Though we’re not doing the monthly updates (hello 40 hour a week job and baby who is all over the place!), I’d still like to post here to actively think about what our lives are like, to document Ben’s milestones, and to keep our faraway family and friends in the loop!DSCN3662Monthly Stats: Height: 32.25”, Weight: 25.7 lbs., Head Circumference: 49”. Ben has really thinned out. He’s tall and broad shouldered just like his Papa. When I look at baby pictures of Isaac, I really think Ben looks like him, but everybody seems to think he looks more like me. Ben has these really great eyes that sometimes look blue, sometimes brown and sometimes grey. They are pretty awesome, his chameleon eyes. His hair is golden: Isaac had bleach blond hair as a baby and small child, I had more dirty or strawberry blonde, so Ben’s golden locks are pretty unique to him.

I love getting to know Ben. His personality is emerging more and more. He is quite serious at times (he never wants to smile in pictures!), but he’s also a little joker. As he gets older, he’s learning more and more how things work and wants to help. For example: he runs and grabs his shoes and then tries to put them on or sits down and asks us to do it, he knows if something is hot that he should blow on it. He’s also talking a lot more. It’s pretty cute when he strings a bunch of noises together, it’s like he’s speaking in sentences (that only he understands). He also is experimenting with singing, which is pretty freaking adorable. Some of his words:

Mama: me, plus pretty much anything else he wants

Baba: papa

dadi: lots of things

Adah: a dog

Ahhh-di: hot

Gaga: cracker

Nana: fruit

Nigh, nigh: night, night (go to sleep)

A wah: a walk or a run

Ben has quite the little will. We’re talking a “Disciplining with Yes” class that has been really challenging me to think about how I interact with Ben and how I want to parent him. I really like the class and I’m really glad that living in Denver has opened up so many new resources, like the Mother’hood, which is a local parent resource center that is awesome! Another thing we’re really enjoying about Denver is all of the opportunities for outdoorsy things. We try to go for a hike every weekend, though we’re not always successful. We also made our first Colorado camping trip with friends a couple of weekends ago. Love it!

Here are some highlights from the past few months.

A family hike on the Chautauqua trail in Boulder.

A family hike on the Chautauqua trail in Boulder.

Too much adventure for Ben!

Too much adventure for Ben!

Climbing on vintage suitcases at Logan's 1st birthday.

Climbing on vintage suitcases at Logan’s 1st birthday.

Tara & Ben, Megan & Logan at Logan's 1st birthday.

Tara & Ben, Megan & Logan at Logan’s 1st birthday.

Leadville 4th of July!

Leadville 4th of July!

Playing ping-pong.

Playing ping-pong.

Baby love.

Baby love. (Blurry, but too sweet not to share)

Surrounded by too many toys (I like to call this baby bomb)

Surrounded by too many toys (I like to call this baby bomb)

Water table fun with our friend Logan!

Water table fun with our friend Logan!

This has been such a fun-filled summer. We can’t wait to see what Denver has to show us for fall and winter!

